Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
Share |

AACE Professional Certification

You work hard to achieve excellence as a Property Maintenance and Housing Inspector or Zoning Inspector, and you put a great deal of time and effort into educating yourself on the most up-to-date rules, regulations and technical knowledge to do your job well. All you need now is the proof. Certification is the answer. The AACE Certification Program provides nationally recognized examinations and credentials so you can demonstrate your knowledge of the codes, standards and practices of your profession.


Certification is voluntary, and verifies to governmental jurisdictions that you possess the technical knowledge underlying the practice of code enforcement, and that you care enough to get proof of your mastery level of competence.


The American Association of Code Enforcement Certification (AACE) Program was established in 1993 to encourage professionalism and consistency among code enforcement personnel through a comprehensive test of knowledge of codes, standards and practices necessary for professional competence. The examinations are now being used for both screening of prospective employees as well as for merit raises for current employees.


Certification Types


Current examinations can certify an individual as a:

  • Certified Property Maintenance and Housing Inspector or
  • Certified Zoning Inspector.

Information regarding these exams is available via AACE's Certification-Related Downloads link at the bottom of this page. 



CCEO:  Candidates successfully completing both of the above examinations may earn the Certified Code Enforcement Officer (CCEO) designation by making application to ICC and paying an additional fee. 


CCEA:  To earn the Certified Code Enforcement Administrator (CCEA) designation, a successful candidate will have completed both of the examinations below. 

  • Legal and Management Module (MG and MM) of the ICC Building Officials examination
  • ICC/AACE Property Maintenance & Housing exam (64) or ICC/AACE Zoning exam (75) 

The CCEA certificate involves a separate fee and application made to ICC. 

The CCEA and CCEO applications and relevant information may be found by clicking into the


AACE Certification Bulletin


and for additional information, contact ICC at:

1-888-ICC-SAFE (1-888-422-7233) extension 5227.

Master Code Enforcement Professional Certification

New to AACE, this is for individuals who possess the skills required to show they are at the top of their field in Code Enforcement.  To hold the prestigious title of Master Code Enforcement Professional, an individual must have earned the following certifications:

  • ICC/AACE Certified Code Enforcement Officer (CCEO)
  • ICC/AACE Certified Code Enforcement Administrator (CCEA)
  • ICC Certified Residential Building Inspector

and complete the following National Incident Management System (NIMS) courses:

  • ICS-100 Introduction to the Incident Command System (ICS)
  • ICS-200 ICS for Single Resource and Initial Action Incidents
  • ICS-300 Intermediate ICS for Expanding Incidents
  • ICS-400 Advanced ICS for Command and General Staff
  • IS-700 An Introduction to the National Incident Management System
  • IS-800 An Introduction to the National Response Framework

There is an additional fee required when you submit your application to AACE for this prestigious title, along with proof of your current required certifications listed above.  The MCEP application is available via AACE's Certification-Related Downloads link below. 

Click here to view a current list of MCEP recipients!


Testing and International Code Council (ICC)


All examination and certification related services are provided for AACE by the International Code Council (ICC). These services include exam registration, exam administration, and printing of certificates and wallet cards.  Testing is available through two different methods: PRONTO cloud-based testing system on your home/office computer or computer-based testing at a Pearson VUE test site.


AACE is an ICC Preferred Provider (#1024), meaning all training provided by AACE will fully count toward ICC CEU requirements for certifications.


Certification-Related Downloads

List of Master Code Enforcement Professional (MCEP) recipients!

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal